History for the Future

About Us

The Jefferson County Historical Society is a privately-supported, non-profit, 501(c)3 organization founded in 1850. The mission of the society is to educate the public about Jefferson County History through educational programs and displays, through the acquisition and maintenance of historic materials and through the provision of research opportunities for people interested in local history.

The society maintains the History Center campus which has a main building with the history museum, the children’s room and the library/archives, the historic 1895 railroad station with its large display of railroad memorabilia, and the 1918 authentically restored caboose.

John Nyberg, Executive Director
JoAnne Spiller, Education Director

Board of Directors
Rob Barlow
 Diana Hand
Ray Livers
Diane Munier (vice president)
Sarah Prasil
Ron Roaks (president)
 Frank Taff
Jan Vetrhus (treasurer)
Pam Zehren (secretary)

615 West First Street, Madison, IN 47250
812-265-2335    info@jchshc.org

Become a Member or Donate

To join the Jefferson County Historical Society, 
please use the drop down menu below. 
JCHS is a 501(c)3 organization.

Membership Levels

To make a donation to the Jefferson County Historical Society,
please use the PayPal button below. JCHS is a 501(c)3 organization.

Our Location

Jefferson County Historical Society
615 West First Street, Madison, IN 47250